[Push Reel Mowers] Which one to buy?

• Moderators

I posted a while back about purchasing a push reel mower this Spring. Well, the grass is about to grow....a lot!

I am interested in the Scott's 2000-20 on Amazon, but since I have no experience with these mowers I'm mainly going by the number of reviews.

Any input or anything to steer me in a different direction?

Unless you're a masochist, or have less than 100 sq. ft of lawn, listen to MacGyver.

FYI - the grass type should dictate the blade count on the mower. 5-blade is for finer stand-up grass like fescue and KY blue. 7-blade is for thicker stuff that lays flat like Bermuda. If you commit to a reel mower, then really commit to it. You need to mow it often or you'll struggle more.

Edited by monkeylizard

I had one for a little while.  I treated mowing as aerobic exercise, and I loved finishing the yard and not smelling like fuel/exhaust.   (for the record, I still  daydream about the Exmark I used to use long ago - it happens almost every time I mow.. .and think of how long ago I could've been finished   :pleased: ).

As much as I liked the reel mower, it would NOT cut weeds consistently.  So, if you have one type of grass blade in the area you are mowing - go for it.  If you have any weeds that have a tough stem, I would think about a remedy for that.

I now use a Ferris WB.  -though I still like the idea of a man-powered reel mower!

Good luck!

I like idea of using a reel mower.  Great exercise and get your lawn mowed all at the same time.

But.... Oh noooo,  "Only in America do we go to Sears and purchase a riding lawn mower and a tread mill".  :D

I don't have a treadmill. I hang my clothes on the stepper machine.
  • Like 2

When I was growing up I had two and a half acres on the side of a mountain to mow.

My mother bought me a self propelled mower. When I ran over a rock and warped the shaft, she bought me a reel push mower.

I haven't said a kind word to that evil woman in twenty years.