DC Gun Ban just overturned

Not to be a Danny Downer, the decision is great, it's on the books. However I see the DC government not complying with the decision and getting away with it by simply re-wording their laws. I just don't see anyone besides police and government officials owning a gun in DC.

• Like 1

.... I just don't see anyone besides police and government officials owning a gun in DC.

Anyone willing to jump through the registration hoops can legally own a gun in DC. This was about carrying them outside the home.

- OS

Edited by Oh Shoot
  • Like 1

Seems I'll be cooking up a big pot of crow pie for some folks...  I've been saying for 3 years Palmer vs Washington DC was the gateway to removing bans on carrying firearms and turn it into a right.  If (and it should be unless somebody on SCOTUS dies in the next 18 months) this ruling is upheld, it will be a watershed for 2nd Amendment rights.

Clearly under this ruling - should it be upheld, TN complete prohibition against long gun carry would be unconstitutional.

• Like 2

Isn't it sickening that our nation's capital city is one of the most restrictive in terms of our second protected right of the people? This is fantastic. If it holds, I expect to see a wave of strike-downs across the nation.

• Like 2
  • Moderators
[quote name="Dustbuster" post="1172430" timestamp="1406434034"]Now hopefully they'll pass a concealed howitzer law, and flamethrower permit law. Perfect for that filthy nasty disgusting town....dc, ptooie Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2 of course it ate my spelling.[/quote] Your post does make me wonder if DC has a local flamethrower law. Federally (& in TN) they are unregulated and I have been thinking about building one. It would be amusing to see if they overlooked that particular device in DC as well.

Anyone willing to jump through the registration hoops can legally own a gun in DC. This was about carrying them outside the home.

- OS