Neck Turning Rifle Brass

I have been loading for 45+ years. Mostly pistol but a lot of rifle. I have never formed one caliber to another this. I am in the process of forming 243 Win from 308 and find it necessary to neck turn it so it doesn't fit so snug in the chamber. I understand that I need to inside neck turn but need some advice on how and what to use equipment wise. What say guys?

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't neck turn as I only form 300Blk cases from 5.56 brass and they don't need it.  But a friend lent me this: https://www.midsouthshooterssupply.com/item/0004490401/Hand_Case_Neck_Turner_Kit_With_Quick_Change_Case_Holder_ in case I needed it when I first started.  It takes brass from the outside of the case though, not sure if that is the standard or not.

I have no clue, but this seems like something you could do with a drill bit, if you could find one the right size (?).   I mean its just a 1/4 inch of brass that already has a hole so a quick in and out cut to thin right?  

*surely* someone has a way to do this; resizing brass has been a cottage industry in the USA since the 60s at least.

I have no clue, but this seems like something you could do with a drill bit, if you could find one the right size (?).   I mean its just a 1/4 inch of brass that already has a hole so a quick in and out cut to thin right?  

*surely* someone has a way to do this; resizing brass has been a cottage industry in the USA since the 60s at least.