1911 low down

none

Ok for me at the end of the day a side arm is a tool. I am not an expert on handguns. So with that being said I drive a Honda always been reliable dependable and affordable. I have friends that are total car nuts its their thing to me its a car. For the most part I am very practical and budget conscious. Not cheap but I like to get the best quality I can afford. So now I am going to be switching to a 1911. I would like to find a good quality one for off hours that wont break the bank. I have not ruled out a TRP. And in all actuality I would prefer not to spend my money on a Springfield.( NOT THAT THEY ARE NOT A QUALITY PIECE BUT FOR ME I WILL NOT EVEN REMOTELY SUPPORT THE STATE OF IL) its a mater of principle and another. story. But if possible I would like to get the best quality 1911 for the money. I have just started my research and I am looking for thoughts and suggestions. As of now I am looking at a Ruger SR 1911 commander as well as possibly a Para Ordnance or a Colt New agent or even a Remington.

I am going to qualify my next question with this I have stock side arm in which I can out shoot some friends with their side arms costing double what mine did. Again not saying that some of the high end ones are not really nice. But is the average person going to see a difference in performance between a factory build and a custom shop unit?

Sorry for being long winded.

Edited would appreciate suggestions on ones made in the US Edited by wcd

Me personally, I am new to 1911.  I have been in and around guns for over 40 years, and have a good respectful collection.  But until the past 60 days, never a 1911.  Finally bought my first, a Colt.  Great gun, I am still learning the platform after shooting Glocks, Sigs, and Berettas.