Boker Magnum Survival

With all this fixed blade knife goodness going on here, I ran across what I think is quite a deal.  I like the idea of having a modest sized fixed blade I can carry.  I'm also somewhat traditional and like wood scales and leather sheaths. 

Plus I'm cheap.  ;)

Enter the Boker Magnum Survival....   http://www.boker.de/us/fixed-blade-knife/boker/tactical-knife/02SC310.html

i-QRN5Smq-L.jpg

$26 to my door.   Yep, really.

I'm no knife expert, but I fiddled around with it over the weekend.  I don't really consider it a true "survival knife", but its a perfectly serviceable camp/utility knife.  It was reasonably sharp out of the box, just barely shaving sharp.  I assume that'll be the norm since it's a 440 stainless blade as opposed to something like 1095.  Probably a better choice for this purpose anyway... less concern for chipping it or corrosion. 

The notch is listed for cutting cord, rope, etc.  I didn't have any rope laying around that I wanted to make shorter so I can't say how well it works for that.  I did do a good job shaving little knots off the stick I was whittling on. 

It's got a little ridge on the spine to act as a thumb stop, but I think it could use a little jimping for a more tactile feel.  I may have a go at that myself at some point. 

The wrong handed sheath is a bit of an expected bummer (I'm left handed), but carrying it on my left side seemed to work fine. 

For the price, I'm more than satisfied.  :)

i-qkg2QNL-L.jpg

i-Z4vmDr4-L.jpg

i-GsFTj5h-L.jpg

i-cJCMrjB-L.jpg

• Like 4

Dang, that looks nice! And it is calling out to me.

Call back. It's hard to go wrong for the price.

That's a classic design with beautiful lines. Nice pick up. :up:

Thanks. If I might inquire from the expert, how might I go about adding some jimping? Is there a special tool of some sort or just a file?