My developing knife 'philosophy' and recent purchases

I am certainly no knife expert.  Instead, I am just a guy who has been carrying a pocket knife most days for close to forty years (I am forty three.)  Over the course of those years I have carried several, different styles and types of pocket knife ranging from very traditional, three blade Old Timers to Swiss Army knives to assisted opening single blades with more of a 'tactical' look.

I have said in other threads that I have zero knowledge, training or experience in knife fighting.  I have also said that, if backed into a corner with my life in danger and no options I would certainly try to defend myself with a knife as a last ditch effort.  However, when choosing a knife for edc I tend to look more for a general purpose tool with the remote idea of possibly having to use it for sd kind of in the back of my mind.

Lately, I have become interested in the idea of carrying a small to medium sized fixed blade knife.  The thing I like about fixed blades is that they don't have the 'hinge' as a weak point so that - especially full tang fixed blades - are theoretically more sturdy over time.  In theory, then - especially since TN relaxed its knife laws - such a fixed blade would be a great idea for carry.  I have discovered that, in practice, not so much (for me) for the following reasons:

1.  A fixed blade might be 'legal' but it still likely isn't 'appropriate' for some/many situations - much like my views on open carry of a firearm.