The semi-auto,,,,,,Myth?

K191145

Okay, I heard some guy on a show about snipers, and i've heard it before that bolt actions are more accurate because a semi-auto's action is moving as the bullet is traveling down the barrel thus moving the rifle. Really? Can anyone time the bullet from the time the primer is ignited, igniting the powder pushing the bullet out of the case, traveling through the barrel and exit the muzzle? I'm not a ballistics expert or reloader but i'm pretty sure it's pretty darn fast, I mean I can see actions cycling with my naked eye. And what about gas operated rifles like an AK that has the gas port to assist the action near the muzzle? I may be wrong but it's just hard to imagine that the action on a semi-auto has much effect, or is actually moving before the bullet exits the muzzle.

Now could it be that many semi's have a looser lockup than some bolt rifles and maybe there is a little movement? Anyway, i'm just asking those who know alot more about that than me, it's just hard for me to imagine that the action itself has alot to do with accuracy on a semi. I do know there's some pretty accurate semi's I have seen like M1A National Match which does have tighter tolerances and a few others.

Ain't shit happening until the bullet passes the gas block. Fact is, bolt actions can have much tighter mechanical tolerances, and stronger bolts. BOTH have travelling mechanical distortions along the barrel from the discharge of the round, and both are most accurate when the rate of change of mechanical distortion is least at the end of the barrel when the bullet leaves the barrel.

Check out the Art of the Precision Rifle. Todd Hodnett says both types are capable of long range sniper service. And, there ain't many folks more qualified to make that statement. FWIW, Todd's goto personal rifle was an Accuracy International bolt gun. 

• Like 2
I'm going to tag this for later. Don't want to type a lot so late on my cell.