Training in Nashville area?

Hey guys....  I'm relatively new to guns and looking to get some additional training beyond my CCW class.  It seems that several places offer more advanced training courses, but they pretty much never actually schedule them.  I've basically been going to Everything weapons range and doing some dry fire drills at the house.

Where is someplace great to go in the greater Nashville area to learn more advanced pistol techniques?

I will be teaching our Close Range Gunfighting class in Lewisburg Tn (south of Nashville on I 65) at the end of June. There is a thread in this subforum with more info.

I looked at that and would be super interested, but I thought it might be too advanced for my skills due to the novice shooter warning.  I've only done the CCW class for my permit, gone to the range a handful of times, and been doing drills from the dry fire training cards I bought.  Your other class looked perfect, but I'm looking for something I won't have to stay overnight for.

Edited by highergr0und

highergr0und;

I understand your concern or trepidation about taking a formal class early in your learning experiences, but believe my friend, this is the time to do so.

Training "scars", ingrained deficiencies from repetition of less than correct acts, are easily developed in our beginning stages of learning. It takes a lot longer to "unlearn" a way of doing something than to learn the correct manner in the beginning...ask me how I know. :cool:

I only wish I had the opportunities available now, and locally/regionally when I started my oft interrupted journey. Back then we had Cooper (Gunsite), Ray Chapman (Chapman Academy) and Mas Ayoob (LFI)...

Quality instruction is available quite handily now days.