Dillon 650

I'm finally going to get a press in February.  How functional is a base Dillon 650?  I'd like to get the base unit up and running, then start adding parts later.

Can you begin reloading without all the frills?  

Is it a decent pace without the extra equipment?

I'll be a total noob at reloading, but I do tend to engross myself in something when I start it.

I'll probably buy it from Reloaders Bench in Mt. Juliet.  

I'm finally going to get a press in February.  How functional is a base Dillon 650?  I'd like to get the base unit up and running, then start adding parts later.
Can you begin reloading without all the frills?  
Is it a decent pace without the extra equipment?
I'll be a total noob at reloading, but I do tend to engross myself in something when I start it.
I'll probably buy it from Reloaders Bench in Mt. Juliet.  

I have a 650 that all I have added is a case feeder. Since you are new to reloading I would suggest getting something less complicated. What calibers are you planning to load for?

I would highly suggest that you take a look at the Lee classic cast. They aren't incredibly expensive and are inexpensive to get setup on different calibers.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'll be doing 9MM to start, but will move into .45 and .223 soon.

I'd really hate to buy something I'm just going to end up replacing down the road.  I've been shooting IDPA and I do shoot a lot of ammo.  I'd rather not invest in a press that is not very productive.  

I'll enjoy reloading, I just won't have a ton of time to do it so I'm looking for a long term do it all solution.

• Like 1
I'll be doing 9MM to start, but will move into .45 and .223 soon.
I'd really hate to buy something I'm just going to end up replacing down the road.  I've been shooting IDPA and I do shoot a lot of ammo.  I'd rather not invest in a press that is not very productive.