New Guy From Virginia - Looking for P.38 9mm help

Greetings All:

I found this Forum through searching for Walther P.38 9mm sites.

I'm originally from Newport, TN, east of the I-81 / I-40 junction, on I-40.  Joined the Navy in 1970, retired in 1993.  I was an aviation electrician and later got commissioned and was a Naval Aviator, primarily flying the F-14 and the A-4.

I have a Mauser-manufactured P.38, made in late 1944.  Got it recently from my Dad.  I know nothing of the history of the pistol.  Been to the firing range twice now, and it needs some good TLC by a good gunsmith.  Can anyone point me to a gunsmith who knows the P.38, preferably in Virginia, but anywhere will do.

I live in Stafford, on I-95 just south of the Quantico Marine Corps base.  Any help much appreciated.

Thanks,

Mike

Michael S. Shelton, Stafford, VA

MikeW,

Thanks for the quick response.  The gun's slide tends to jam on each shot, because the take-down lever is loose, rotates downward slightly, and the shaft then binds the slide as it returns to chamber the next round.  I manage this by holding the lever horizontal on trigger squeeze so it doesn't jam.

Next, the hammer doesn't always fully cock, or there is some slop in the trigger linkage, that results in no firing when I pull the trigger.  I manage this by re-cocking the hammer, and then it will fire.

Finally, I have a misfire about every four to seven rounds.  Usually, a re-cock will fire the round.  But so far, I have had four complete duds, with the primer dented somewhat.  I kept the rounds and will see if they fire next time I have my Ruger 9mm with me at the range,  Overall, the gun has a generally loose and sloppy action.  However, the bore is excellent and it groups beautifully at 10 yards.  I'm impressed with the accuracy and the grouping of the pistol.  So far, I have fired about 60 rounds.  I'm using boxed 9mm Luger ammo.  But it's a pain.