Anyone around Columbia process their own lead and cast? I’ve been reloading for a couple of years and am now curious about casting. Would like to find someone near by who wouldn’t mind me hanging out while they go through the steps. I’ve seen plenty of YouTube videos but would like to see it first hand before I dive into it. Have been collecting lead for a while and just not sure if it’s right for me yet. 

I will check it out this weekend. I’ve read quite a bit already. I think I’m good on the steps and background. My interest is in cost effectiveness and time. Mainly I would cast them powder coat 300 blackout subs and maybe some 357. Would it be worth the time and would I save enough to justify it. Then is it something I actually enjoy.

To answer your question it depends on what you are paying for lead, i get mine free so i am a .05 a round for 9mm ,40,45 as i pickup my brass so all i pay for is primer and powder.

For 30 06, 300 black ,3030  ,300 savage i dont know my cost, but again i only pay for primer ,powder , and some powder coat about every 10k rounds.

And as for the folks that want to add cost of equipment in , i have had most of my equipmet more than 30 years so its paid for

I did a quick search in this subforum and will link a couple of threads.

Whether or not it's worth the initial investment, time and energy is really a very subjective thing.

Casting and powder coating has allowed our small group of three to affordably cast, coat and tailor loads that meet our perceived needs. Our individual round cost is ridiculously low. But we purchased our components in bulk. 

With the low price and ready availability of components now is an excellent time to store what you can't fashion yourself, and the skill and knowledge gleaned from learning to cast & coat may prove invaluable in the future. 

If you search for threads by Dolomite_supafly or Caster you'll find some excellent info and quite a few varied viewpoints. Keeps things interesting...