Shield Arms S15 mags??

Does anyone have experience with the S15 mags? I just picked up a Glock 48 and am considering getting a few of them. I see some reliability issues on YouTube and others say they work perfectly. 

The wife is taking my 365XL and the Glock 48 just pairs so well with my 19x. 

Id like the extra five rounds but would rather have reliability. 

2 minutes ago, Chucktshoes said:

Stick with the OEM Glock mags. The fact that you have to even question this should be all the answer you need. 

They’d also like that you change the mag release out with a metal one. Not a huge deal but just one more thing. I wish Glock would have abandoned the plastic coating on this one and just made more room for extra rounds. That’ll probably be the 50x. 

I have some experience with these and two 48s and feel they are worthwhile.  If you are the type to get a new gun and carry it without putting a couple hundred rounds through it first, I would avoid them.  There are two generations of magazines, but I don’t think the gen 1 is available any more.  They recommend a metal mag catch, whether you use theirs or someone else’s.  I would use theirs.  The early mag catches were aluminum and don’t seem to like gen 2 mags.  My experience is that Gen 2 mags and the new steel mag catch used together are reliable and are all Shield now sells.  Call them if you have any questions—they are very helpful.  

• Like 2
  • 3 weeks later...

I have two with their mag release installed on my G48. They have run great with a couple of fails to lock the slide back.

I have put over 500 rounds thru mine.

The only problem with them is that you can not change the mag release to the right side, no mag lock slot on the right of the mags.

• 1 month later...