Getting in to reloading. A couple of questions.

Due to obvious reasons and having a ton of brass for multiple calibers, I have a RCBS Master reload kit that I've never put together or used.

I have the Speer book that it came with, but what modern book do you guys recommend? (Mostly planning on reloading .308, 30-30, 30-06, .243, .300 RUM, and probably .357M)

I've noticed that primers are getting harder and harder to come by, could I use CCI 200's in my .300 RUM or do I absolutely need the 250 magnum primer? Flip coin, can I use the 250's in the other calibers or is it too hot of a charge and need to also order 200's? Just really trying to keep costs to a minimal and not having to order stuff that I absolutely dont need to. 

Preferred powder in those calibers? Excluding the .357 (that you can still find some what readily available)

In this famine I have swapped out magnum for standard  small pistol primers. I had problems with one handgun and occasional misfires in another. Overall, for many hundreds of rounds the swap worked out.  

Personal Preference: I have all but stopped loading magnum rifle rounds due to scarcity of power and bullets. Personally, in the magnum rifle calibers loaded here I would never use standard large rifle primers instead of magnum, The only exception is using lead bullets.  YMMV

Added for you standard rounds I'd look at 4895, 4064 and 4350. Also for the large magnum it would by 4831 with possibly RL-19 and slower Alliant powders. For those rounds you are loading there dozens of good ways to go.

Edited by Mowgli Terry

I think I'm understanding what you're saying, for the common .308" rounds its fine to use the normal CCI 200 primers, but for the 300 RUM, should stick with the 250 Mag primers. I honestly figured that would be the case trying to ignite literally 2x the powder of the others with the 300 RUM, but kind of hoped I could get away with only having to use one type of primer. I see we're neighbors.