Extremely Remote, Desolate Camping Spot? W/NO YUPPIES

Have any of you guys come across a bitchin camping spot while hiking around or glassing? Spot being defined as anywhere I can put a tent & have a fire. I’m looking for a week trip with just the dogs & do not want to see a human unless they’re passing through looking for game. I do not care if it’s “legal” so long as it’s not private property unless I can get permission which I’d gladly pay for (which would be ideal). I absolutely will not keep my shepherds on a leash & keep my fire in a 24” steel ring which is all I’m finding here. I’m a self employed general contractor, it’s been an insane summer & will not have the energy to pack kit in so a fire road or some sort of 4wd truck access is the only other criteria I’m looking to meet.  I grew up at the base of the Sierra-Nevada’s & have spent over 70 nights between 7 & 11,000 feet in February, solo, so I’m no novice camper. Ive camped where the Donner party got stuck & resorted to the last resort. I shouldn’t have to say this but it’s 22; as an Eagle Scout I practice “leave no trace” & pick up random trash daily. I will not be hunting unless I see squirrels or rabbits to feed to the dogs. My mom & my grandma are dying & I absolutely have to decompress & find some peace before dealing with family & funerals. Any tips or contacts appreciated. Tristartradesmen.com has a brief bio for context & some personal info. 

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

That is going to be a tough one in Tennessee. Lots of great trails, hikes, and developed campgrounds but there are just not that much expansive public land without restrictions. The ratio of private to public land is just not conducive to really remote dispersed/primitive camping and trails here. Out west you have a lot of BLM land that works better for that.