CZ Bren 2 MS Replacing My AR15

DocHawk

I have been enjoying growing into a new platform. My trusty AR's have gone through many evolutions as I've grown as a shooter, and my handguards have reflected this evolution from Milspec to Magpul, then free floated keymod, and on to Mlok. My receivers have made similar changes, having experimented with all manner of ambi controls and lighter weight. I've tried gas piston over direct impingement, side charging over rear charging, folding stocks, and more. My optics have gone from irons to red dots to scopes with mall ninja side dots to LPVOs. Everything has been a delightful (expensive?) journey.

20221207_154738.jpg.6927aec118a3488d9383f28aa11b9e25.jpg

Recently, I started playing with a new platform, the CZ Bren 2 MS. This piston driven, lightweight carbine is the standard issue police and military carbine for the Czech Republic, and it is best described as a modern (and improved) version of a SCAR. Non-reciprocating side charging handle, ambi controls, lightweight, fantastic center of gravity with more weight behind the pistol grip, folding stock that doesn't need to be extended to fire, and an adjustable gas block in case you need extra gas for adverse conditions, questionable ammo, or like slinging your empties across the range.

The Bren 2 platform is practically everything I've been spending money to make my AR15's into. Lightweight and balanced. Compact, with a functional folding stock. Better controls and more combat-effective manual of arms (the side charging handle doesn't make you lower the rifle and lose your sight picture/target awareness to run it). An inexpensive gas selector swap gives you a new "suppressed" setting, to avoid overgassing.