Handgun for Grizzlies

I’ll be backpacking in a remote corner of Montana in a month. As a farmer with an insane amount of equipment and gear, I cringe at buying more things I don’t need. Well in this case my g43 isn’t going to be sufficient in Grizzly territory. 

Anybody have experience with this? As far as I can tell 10mm is the way to go. 

any other options I should consider besides the G20 and a chest holster?

• Like 1

I have ZERO experience with grizzlies but I have a 10mm, 454 casull, and 500 S&W in the collection IF I were ever to venture out as you are going to . I think a 10mm is sufficient in that environment . Best of luck on your upcoming adventure !!

• Like 2

I lived and hunted in the northwest corner of Montana, back then I carried a 44 magnum, if I were to go today I think I would pick a 10mm with some heavy solids as Alleycat72 said. 

Best bet is to keep aware of your surroundings and try and steer clear of them, I know that doesn’t always work though. 

• Like 4

Interesting on the heavy solids. Makes sense…lots to punch through. 

that’s definitely the appeal of the 10mm is the amount of rounds in the gun vs a high caliber revolver. Only 5 shots makes me nervous. 

I’ll have to google BFR, unless it means a big  **  rifle haha 

• Haha 1
5 minutes ago, Faxmachine said:

that’s definitely the appeal of the 10mm is the amount of rounds in the gun vs a high caliber revolver. Only 5 shots makes me nervous. 

You're ⅔ right lmao

23 minutes ago, Faxmachine said:

https://shopkahrfirearmsgroup.com/bfr-45-70-stainless-steel/

• Like 1

You need the biggest caliber handgun you are willing to carry, and can shoot, if you aren’t carrying a rifle or shotgun. I would prefer to carry both.

However, people tell me the 10mm has a huge following in Alaska to the point 10mm ammo is as common as 44mag nowadays.