Help me complete my Bug-Out Bag!

Ok guys, putting together a bug-out bag for me and the wife. I'm still going through it in my mind, and I'm sure I need to make some changes. I'm no survival expert and I would love some input you guys who know better.

So far I have a single backpack that carries (no particular order):

• Small first aid kit (antiseptic, bandages, needle, thread, aspirin, etc.)
  • 2 Swiss army knives
  • Glock 21, Taurus PT145, Ruger SP-101 (100 rds .45, 50 rds .38)
  • Cash and some pocket change
  • 1 roll Toilet paper & girl hygiene stuff (in ziplock baggies)
  • 2 set of clothes (me & her: 2 jeans, 2 sweatshirts, 2 T's socks & undies)
  • 2 small rain ponchos
  • 8 cans of chef boyardee, 8 cans of tunafish
  • Water tablets (enough for 50 liters)
  • 1 quart thermos
  • 1 portable camp stove with two 8-hour sterno cans
  • 2 8 hour emergency candles & 2 lighters
  • 1 Magnesium Flint & striker
  • 1 liquid filled compass
  • 50 Feet of Nylon Rope
  • 2 pens, 1 pencil, and a notepad
  • Portable am/fm Radio & Flashlight with hand generator (and batteries)
  • 2 books: Pocket Outdoor Survival Guide & Edible Wild Plants & Herbs
  • Detailed laminated map of middle TN

Everything sits in the bag packed and ready to go with exception of the 3 pistols which are in their normal places around the house, but I can collect them and toss them in the bag in about 30 seconds.

Right next to the bag is a compact 2-man tent and one -40F sleeping bag (big enough for two, right? :screwy: ) ready to be grabbed and carried with the bag.

questions:

• What is missing? / also what is there that doesn't need to be?
  • more ammo? This bag is getting heavy already...
  • do I include my shotgun & 00 buck in the emergency plan?
  • not enough food? different food? water?

Thanks guys!

Edited by TNTitan
  • Replies 93
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• What is missing?...