Out of state resident...can I buy a gun in TN

Guest blairellis

Guest blairellis

I am still a resident of MI technically as I have not declared my permanent residence here in TN yet. I have up to a year to do so according to my research.

Anyways, since I just moved here from MI and am not a resident, can I purchase a firearm here in TN? I am specifically wanting to look at purchasing a handgun.

What is the procedure you have to go through to do so here in TN? I had to go to the local Sheriffs office and purchase a Handgun Purchase Permit back in MI which involves an on the spot background check. Does anything like that exist here or is there a waiting period to get a handgun?

Thanks for the info!

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

you must be a TN resident to purchase a handgun in TN. Doesn't matter if it's a private sale or retail. Same rules apply.

As for what happens.. RETIAL: you find a gun, fill out the forms, wait until you get approved (can take minutes to weeks) depending on what shows during your background check. then pay your bill and take the gun home. PRIVATE: make the deal, show your ID, walk away with your new handgun.

Simple..

Someone correct me if I'm wrong but don't you have to establish residency in TN for 30 days before you can purchase a gun? For example, when I moved here, I had the utilities turned on and took the receipts and other documents to DMV and got my driver's license. About a week later, I went to the pawn shop in Sevierville, I was told that I had to be a resident for 30 days before I could purchase a gun. So was the guy at the pawn shop right or is there a "waiting period"?

Guest blairellis