Do you have to register your handgun?

Guest Star1021Scott

Guest Star1021Scott

Sorry guys, I am quite the newbie here, but figured I would ask, because no question is a stupid question? I bought a handgun from an individual at a gunshow, I was given his information etc, do I have to have that handgun registered in my name? Or Does it matter? If so could you give me some instruction on how to do so?

Thanks.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Tennessee is a "friend to friend" state. If you are legally qualified to own a handgun you can buy it from another friend who MUST be a resident of Tennessee also. That part is all good.

My concern in your statement is you bought it at a gunshow but you don't state you filled out a form 4473 which you probably would have thought of as registration. The concern is being covered on another thread called "Straw Purchase". If a dealer met you outside and sold you the gun then he is in big trouble. This is part of the Gun Show loophole that anti's like to throw in our faces. Myself, if you and another TN resident decided to conduct business your good to go.

Perhaps you want to clarify the details. (or maybe you don't want to...)

I wouldn't clarify any details on an internet forum, either way. Even if someone didn't run a background check when they were supposed to (which only applies if you were buying it from an actual dealer, not just some guy) that's their problem, not yours. IANAL, but the way I understand things, as long as you're not a felon or meth addict, then you are peachy.

Guest Star1021Scott

Makes no difference to me, I was in the physical show, he was another TN resident and I didn't feel out a any forms other thangeneric bill of sale with his information on it.

What do you think?

No felon, crack addict, meth head, etc.

Edited by Star1021Scott
Guest gcrookston