Looking for a handgun recommendation

Branket

Hello everyone,

Let me just start off by saying that I have never fired a handgun. I have shot many different rifles in many different calibers, and shotguns as well, so I'm not completely new to firearms but I am completely new to handguns. I used to live in Michigan and you always had to be 21 to use a handgun at the range so I never got the chance to. This rule might be the same here, I haven't checked simply because my 21st birthday is next month and my first handgun is going to be a present to myself.

So that's a little background on me, now let me tell you what I'm looking for in a handgun (or at least what I think I'm looking for in a handgun). My budget for the gun itself is $500-600, from what I can tell there is a decent variety of new firearms in that price range. I honestly have no idea what caliber I plan to use, but I am leaning toward 9mm because it is cost effective and since this will be my first handgun I want to get a lot of practice with it without spending a fortune on ammunition. Someday when I am more familiar and comfortable with the gun I may take the chp class so size may be a factor, but its not a primary concern.

Please also note that before I purchase a firearm I will try to test one of the same model first, I just want some suggestions on what I should be trying to test. Also if anyone knows of a place where I can rent handguns, or just a good gun shop in the Knoxville area that information would help as well since I'm relatively new to the area.

Sorry about the lengthy post and thank you all in advance for your time.

• Replies 85
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Don't know of any shops in Knoxville, though I am sure there is a range there somewhere that will rent you one.