TN carry permit question

Guest mklaglock19

Guest mklaglock19

Hi! I have a quick question. I am taking my carry permit course this Saturday and was wondering if anyone could tell me what the distances are that I will need to shoot to qualify. I am new to shooting so I would like to practice.

I need to get the permit as soon as possible as I am driving to VA in June with my two young children and a puppy. On top of that , I am 4'11 and weigh about 95 lbs so I am a prime target.

Edited by mklaglock19
add info
  • Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi! I have a quick question. I am taking my carry permit course this Saturday and was wondering if anyone could tell me what the distances are that I will need to shoot to qualify. I am new to shooting so I would like to practice.

Welcome to TGO! Some of the shots are "instructor discretion" up to a maximum of 25 yards. The rest are from 3, 7, and 15 yards.

Don't worry too much about the shooting qualification. Very easy, even for someone with limited experience.

Guest mklaglock19

Thanks. I'm sure I'll do fine but I have a wrist flinch (over anticipating the shot) so I just want to get in as much practice as possible.

I need to get the permit as soon as possible as I am driving to VA in June with my two young children and a puppy. On top of that , I am 4'11 and weigh about 95 lbs so I am a prime target.

You'll probably be suprised how well you do in the class. Some have never fired a pistol before taking the class.

Welcome to TGO and kudos for stepping up to the plate to protect yourself and your children.

If I am not mistaken, I think the longest I shot was 15 yrds, but this has been a few years ago. If you can, try to procure a .22 pistol to practice with and even to take your test with if you are nervous about flinching too much. Best of luck with it.

Guest NashvegasMatt