I am new to the whole sbr/class III things and have a couple of questions. First, what forms do I need to fill out for a short barreled rifle? Second, what barrel length would you recommend. Finally, what muzzle break or flash suppressor would be the best to use?

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If you're building the gun yourself (or having it built) on an existing receiver, then you'll use the BATFE Form 1. There are already existing threads on that process, so I won't go into detail here. As for your other questions, I'm afraid we're going to need a bit more information. I assume you're talking about an AR-type rifle, but I don't know that for sure. Can you clarify? Also, what will be the primary purpose of this particular rifle? Close quarters? General purpose? Do you ever intend to suppress it?

For a general purpose SBR, I'd go with either a 12.5". Not as compact as a 10.5", but more reliable and significantly more muzzle velocity for shots at longer ranges.

I'm not a big fan of muzzle brakes on SBR's. Shoot one, and you'll see what I mean. It's like getting punched in the side of the head...lol. As for flash hiders, I'd go with a suppressor mount since you might suppress it down the road, anyway. My personal preference is the Surefire FH556-212a. Surefire suppressors are top-of-the-line, and even if you never get one, the 212a is still a pretty damn fine flash hider.

If you DO think you'll be suppressing in the not-too-distant future, I'd also highly recommend a complete Noveske upper with switchblock. The switchblock lets you regulate your gas system when switching between shooting suppressed and unsuppressed. The 12.5" switchblock upper is GORGEOUS...IMHO, of course.