Baton training in Nashville, any recommendations?

I am considering carrying a collapsible baton for self defense for those places I cannot carry a firearm legally. TN law states carrying a club\baton for the purpose of going armed is illegal unless the person is trained and certified in the use of said baton by a certified instructor. Has anyone got any recommendations on places to go in Nashville to recieve training and certification?

Edited by Mykltn

The wife and I took our baton training at the Academy of Self Protection, aka Joelton Gun shop.

The look she had on her face as she was flat wailing on the training pad I was holding was a bit scary

Do you remember the cost? Was it a one day class?

Have you considered getting some OC spray and watch some videos online and read up on it yourself. You can carry OC spray just about everywhere but on a airplane and there is a whole lot less liability with it. Even as a police officer I went extended periods of time without carrying a baton. There is so much liability when you use a baton and they are a hassle to carry, and yes, even the collapsable ones.

Have you considered getting some OC spray and watch some videos online and read up on it yourself. You can carry OC spray just about everywhere but on a airplane and there is a whole lot less liability with it. Even as a police officer I went extended periods of time without carrying a baton. There is so much liability when you use a baton and they are a hassle to carry, and yes, even the collapsable ones.

+1 on the OC spray. Having seen batons deployed in real life situations, I'm not a big fan. If you strike in the approved areas, i.e. arms and legs, it tends to piss people off. The effective strikes are to the head area, but you open yourself up to lawsuits, and maybe serious criminal charges depending on how much damage you do.