I disagree with "loaded magazines doesn't weaken the spring"

Ever since I started shooting years back, I've always heard that magazine springs are not weakened simply because you keep them loaded. The explanation has always been that the constant compression and decompression of the springs results in weak springs.

I disagree with this logic.

I recently reported a separate issue with my winchester defender shotgun. This gun has spent the last 30 years in a closet and I'm positive that it has fewer than 200 shells through it over the years. Probably closer to 100. However, I believe it's spent at least half its life fully loaded with 7 in the tube. During a recent sporting clay outing I started having malfunctions where the shell wouldn't make it to the chamber. To make this short, the magazine had lost strength and upon receiving the replacement part I found the old spring had shrunk to nearly half it's original size.

So, if storing them loaded doesn't weaken the spring then how could this be? I know this gun wasn't continuously loaded and unloaded. 

Another observation. Any time I get a new pistol(especially Glocks) the magazines are extremely difficult to load the first time. Why is it that the same people that claim loading mags won't weaken them will tell new gun owners "just load the magazine for a few days and the springs will loosen up".  

Why is it that after a few days of being stored loaded, my Glock magazines are suddenly easier to load? Why is it that my magazines that have been loaded for years, but shot very little, are easier to load than my magazines stored empty but used often at the range?

Everything I have witnessed has been a direct contradiction to this logic that is often repeated time and time again on gun forums.

What am I missing?

What am I missing?

Nothing really.  Until I hear a professional metallurgist or other such qualified engineer address the issue, springs weaken except when fully at rest.