Crimping pistol ammo cases

I am confused on the crimping of pistol ammunition cases. I am going to start reloading 9mm and I have all the equipment to start but I am still a little confused on the crimping part. I have Lee dies and they include the bullet seating and crimping die . 

What I dont understand is the crimp. I thought that crimping a bullet causes a little wrinkled ring around the case where the crimper would squeeze it to hold the bullet in place. But according to these bullets I have I must be wrong .I have my duty 9mm and the gold one is a target 9mm . Both have smooth cases. I dont see where the case is squeezed inward to hold the bullet inside . It looks like the bullet is just pushed in . 

So someone please explain to me the crimping process in plain english . Sorry but I am still learning . Thanks in advance . 

[URL=http://s768.photobucket.com/user/tercel89/media/bullets_zps768263d2.jpg.html]bullets_zps768263d2.jpg[/URL]

With 9mm it's really not so much crimping. You have to slightly bell the mouth of the case to set the bullet in. Then your seating die needs to be set so thet it seats the bullet and remove that slight bell. The 9mm round is a slightly tapered round and not a straight wall round like a .38.

• Like 3

I'm not aware of any reloading dies that produce the fluted heavy crimp seen on some magnum and +p loads, and at or near the base of the bullet.

Two types of crimp for the reloader, both applied to the case mouth. Pistol rounds use a taper crimp to close the case mouth after the bullet is seated. As Raoul said, this removes the belling formed by the expander die, adding only a slight inward taper to the case.  If you can see it, you probably crimped too much. Revolver rounds use either a taper crimp, or a heavier roll crimp which rolls the case mouth into the cannelure on the bullet.

• Like 2