Who shoots service rifles around here?

I've got an old k98 mauser that I like to shoot, as well as an m1a2. I wonder if anyone here also shoots them, do you like them better than civillian rifles, and if so, how you arrived at your preference.

I myself learned to shoot in the army, with the m16a1. I bought an old m1 garand and fell in love.

after that, just about all my rifles have been service rifles...and I cant see that changing anytime soon.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Administrator

I have an old Enfield at my parents house that I have shot many many times. In fact, before I bought my Remington .30-06 pump, the Enfield was my hunting rifle... iron sights and all. ;)

Would absolutely love to own the Springfield SOCOM M1 but don't see myself spending $1700 on it anytime soon. Other than that, I have my Bushmaster M4gery which is also a ton of fun to shoot.

oof...I've seen pics of the socom m1. being into accuracy I dont know if I'd like that short barrel on it.

I spent 1100 on the m1a2..thats because my brother had pity on me:D and sold it to me for what he paid for it. I recently found out that ar's come in pink and black...because lots of women are getting into this sport...all I can say about that is ;):up::lol::up:;)!!!!

Guest Jason F.

I have really been more into shooting handguns as of late and I still will continue to do that but I used to own several surplus military rifles. I really enjoyed it.

I have my C&R paperwork in process and will be picking up a few things here and there. I used to have an old Enfield that I loved.

I also have a k98. I bought it at an auction about 5 years ago but shot it for the first time last weekend. I had hadn't had any place to shoot it but recently bought 5 acres in the middle of nowhere.

Had fun and put at least 50 rounds through it with no problems.

Guest Fastzntn