solar questions.

my father just finished reading my copy of "one second after". he emailed me this morning to ask about solar generators. this is the specific product:

http://www.earthtechproducts.com/goal0-emergency-solar-essential-kit.html

i know next to NOTHING about solar power. anyone with a good understanding of solar want to chime in on this or other product packages?

also, is there a reputable resource for complete novices that you would recommend for my father and i to learn the basics and understand what he needs/wants? this is a good opportunity for he and i to learn at the same time.

any information is greatly appreciated.
  • Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm generally fond of the GoalZero products. I like their small portable panels when I'm camping. Their stuff is easy to use and seems well built. That said, I suspect you could build a larger system for that price (or a comparable system for less money) by doing it yourself. If he's looking for an easy turnkey solution and doesn't mind the cost, it's certainly an option. Keep in mind that the output ratings will vary depending on how much sunlight he can get on the panels. When power goes out from ice, that's not usually hapenning on sunny days. The "generator" is a packaged battery/inverter/solar controller. Like most batteries, he would have to keep it maintained by either leaving it plugged in for trickle charging or by storing it in a cool dry place and plugging it in every so often (manufacturer should have a recommended schedule).

If he's worried about EMP, solar may not be there the way he thinks it will unless he stores the components in a Faraday cage. Nobody really knows what will and won't survive an EMP. Even if the solar panels themselves survive, the controller and inverter may not.

Edited by monkeylizard
  • 2 weeks later...