Want to Get into Competitive Shooting

I'd like to get into competitive shooting. 

I need more than just going to the range every week.

What would be a good place to start.  I can't invest a ton in a competition gun.

All I currently own are a Springfield XD 9MM Mod.2, Mossberg 12 gauge pump, Old Remington 22LR pump.  Old Remington bolt action 22lr.

Obviously non of these guns are competition models.  Only the Springfield is a top notch firearm, but that purpose is CC only.

Will be purchasing a Colt LE6920 soon once I find it in the configuration I want.

I don't want to get into hard core competition.  I'm a noob, but I shoot fairly well.

Just wanting a hobby with like minded people I can get into.

Where to start?

Edited by Monkeybat
If you're locale is correct in Gallatin we (Tn Action Pistol) host an IDPA or other action pistol match every Wednesday night at Sumner Gun & Supply. Bring out the xD and some mags / ammo and give it a try.

We are new shooter/new to comp shooter friendly and make sure all have a safe and fun time.

Monkeybat,

Agree with Joe.  The TAP folks run a great indoor match that is very new shooter friendly

But if you just can't wait, here is another good place to start at the Gallatin Gun Club.

http://www.tngunowners.com/forums/topic/89655-intro-to-idpa-shooting-class/

Contact Robert Standley if you are interested.

Your XD is already perfect for the Concealed Carry Pistol division in IDPA.  All you really need is a Good Holster, Good Belt, and at least 3 mags.

Oh Yea - - - And Ammo!  :up:

• Like 1

what type?