Pay pal

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Verbal Kint
I am not using pay pal period. is there another form of yearly membership i can do? Thanks

You don't even need to have a PP account to use them. It's no different than using your credit card online to buy <insert gun item here> from <insert online vendor here>.

OS's hit the nail on the head, it's paranoia. I've been using PP since 2003 according to my business account through them. I've sent over $3,200 at one point in time during a transaction, but have received $800-$1,200 as the greatest amount at any one time (probably sent/received money in the $10k+ range overall). I've even got the PP business account tied to one of my banking accounts, so I can bounce money to and from. Oh! The horror! :D

My point... they may be anti-gun to an extent (they've actually gotten better over the years), but I've had absolutely zero problems with them. No compromised account, no charge backs, no frozen funds/account, etc.

Back to my point, though... you don't need to have a PP account. You can simply quick the TGO link, use your credit card, and you're done. Unless you think TGO is going to scam you (please ignore the diverted funds into my account, and the extra charges), you have nothing to worry about.

Yeah, I've probably done $50K through PP since 2000, was using them before eBay bought them, before their competing BillPoint failed.

I don't like the "anti-gun" part either, but it's definitely more a liability/legal decision on eBay's part than a political/2nd amendment statement.

One big reason is that eBay is based in Kalifornia, and they have to really be careful to obey their state laws in addition to federal laws.

I don't take it personally ... it's just biz.

- OS

I will chime in. Paypal is safer than handing your CC to waiter to go back to the register to run the card. ( think about it)