Honda Ridgeline owners : pros and cons ?

tercel89

To al the Honda Ridgeline owners , what are the pros and cons of these "cars with a bed" LOL . I am kinda old school but I do own a Japanese truck and cars. I am a pretty good mechanic and have did all kinds of work from to transmission replacement to engine placement and anywhere in between as long as I have the tools I can do it. I have been looking at the Honda Ridgeline. It is marketed as a truck but has a transverse engine AKA sideways engine like regular front wheel drive cars. This is a con for me . Regular maintenance is a #itch when doing belts and even timing belts and chains in a transverse engine. The other bad thing in my opinion is it is a "unit-body" and has no frame like regular trucks. I know that Honda says its all this and all that , but I like traditional frames on trucks. Don't get me wrong , I own a Honda right now , and have others in the past. They are great , but I just can't get myself to like this . What are your thoughts ? And I am sorry to bore you other guys with a car thread. It's raining and I am stuck inside the house with my dog LOL .  

Edited by tercel89
38 minutes ago, peejman said:

It's a very light duty truck, an SUV or minivan without the enclosed cargo area.  

Honestly, the vast majority of truck owners who very rarely ever use their truck like a truck would be well served by a Ridgeline. 

That is a great description of them : an SUV without the enclosed cargo area. I have never thought of that .

I have a '07 Honda Pilot for my wife to drive, basically the same platform as the Ridgeline. We bought it new, it's been a great car, has 170,000 on it now. No problems, just regular maint, tires, brakes, etc. Drives great and the 3.5 V6 has plenty of power.