Favorite 223 reloads for your AR

Dear fellow TGO'ers:___________

I need to reload some 69 grain loads for an AR carbine. I have no experience with these type loads. Please help me out with any favorite recipe's for reloads.

Thanks in advance.

Kind regards,

LEROY

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Mugster

I ran though about 3 packs (1500) of the sierra 69 bthp using accurate 2230 over the past 3-4 years. That might be a little fast for a 69er, but i had pretty good results with it. I worked up to max 23.5gr, and that shot pretty good. There's some headroom if your experienced and careful. I haven't tried the nosler 69gr hpbt pill. Used CCI military and wolf magnum primers (and I recommend using a tough primer). All kinds of different cases.

I do full length resize each case and also use a lee FCD die on the finished product, which I also recommend. I've had a few split cases, mostly PMC and one federal. The brass doesn't last long.

I do like other bullets better for .223 and the type of shooting I do (<400), and they are more accurate. For the money in the bulk packs plus the powder savings, they do make a sort of sense I guess.

Before the election, I had determined to switch everything 65gr and over to TAC because the numbers looked great and it was cheap. I got bogged down in 7.62x39/.44/.308 and haven't gotten back to .223 yet...but I do have 10 pounds of TAC :up:

Edited by Mugster

...I do like other bullets better for .223 and the type of shooting I do (<400), and they are more accurate. For the money in the bulk packs plus the powder savings, they do make a sort of sense I guess. ...

:lol:

Thanks for the info. What bullet do you like for the < 400 shooting? I need to learn all i can to get going.

Thanks for the info.

Kind regards,

LEROY

Guest Mugster