Need advise - this is my first time. Be gentle.

Guest BigBob

Guest BigBob

Bought my first class 3 from Crowders in Johnson City. Item was to be transferred to another Class 3 dealer. Was told (by the receiving dealer) that would take 2 Wks. Then the receiving dealer would hold the gun until I received my paper work back. It has been 5 Wks and still no paper work back to Crowder’s. Is it possible for me to confirm that the paper work has been sent from Crowder’s??

Thanks in advance.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest bwhited

The answer to your question is no. Your name is not on the Form 3 so the BATFE will not give you any info. However just have one of the dealers that is listed on the Form 3 call and they can confirm for you. My last Form 3 took right at a month and a day so maybe that will help you a bit...

Guest crotalus01

Form 3s usually transfer pretty fast, you might want to get your dealer to call and check. I bought a MG last year that transfered on a F3 from AZ to TN and it only took about 3 weeks.

30 days is the average right now from dealer to dealer.

Crowder still in the gun business? I thought he lost, or is in process of losing his FFL since the felony charges against him... Maybe the FFL is in his wife's name, or ATF is waiting for a conviction.

He has had a very bad reputation for several years. I thought that it had finally caught up to him.

Plunky: He was not in when I bought the gun - it was just the help. Don’t know what his inventory use to be but had very little -this only time I was there. Also his sign outside says Sale Inventory Reduction.

Thanks to everyone for the Info.

I am glad to hear that it could be just the normal delays that are going on. I was/am a bit nervous due to what Plunky is saying. I was told by a friend about Crowder’s reputation but he says I cannot get hurt on the deal and Crowder had the only one available sooo.