U of M paper publishes pro-gun editorial

Guest Halfpint

Guest Halfpint

Just thought I would let those in the Memphis area know, the Daily Helmsman published an op-ed piece from The Gazette, Colorado Springs, Colo, advocating state-by-state looks at the banning of guns on public universities. I've already written an email to the editor, thanking him for publishing something that is so out-of-the-norm for a college campus. I'm on a break between classes right now, but I'll publish the full text of the editorial later on today when I get time.

As many of my customers at the shop know, I'm a student on campus, but I ask that they all keep it low-key, as I don't want the added attention that such a revelation would cause.

I'm just shocked/happy/awed that such an editorial would be published, but I have to say, I'm all for an editor who's open to both sides of an issue, even if they run in separate days' editions of the paper.

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Halfpint

Words in bold highlighted by me. Omission in third paragraph courtesy Daily Helmsman--I copied it word-for-word as it was printed.

Here we go again, but it has to be said: Northern Illinois University is another gun-free zone. So when a suicidal mass murdered showed up at a lecture hall Thursday, nobody had the means to stop him. As a result, he was able to shoot 21 people, killing five. Illinois is largely a rural state, and lots of students and Northern Illinois University own weapons and know how to use them in defense. Unfortunately, the code of student conduct requires that all weapons be stored at the university security office.

We can be reasonably certain that the policy told the killer, who strategically planned a brief, rapid-fire assault, this much: "Nobody in the crowd will take you out when you start shooting."