Camping in Mid Tn

Hello,

I am thinking of going camping Saturday night. I've been numerous times before, but always with at least one other person. The property I'd go on (with full permission) is acres of woods, but there area a couple of houses within maybe half a mile.

I'm going to try building just a make-shift shelter with yard bags or something similar, maybe a light tarp. I know there are supposedly a lot of boars in the area (even big boar hunts nearby each spring). Do I need to worry about anything being out there alone / is this a dumb idea? I'd have my 9mm but it seems like a shotgun is a little overkill, but idk. I guess what I'm really wondering is if a boar or coyote or the like decides to attack, are you really going to know it until he's already standing on top of you? I'd guess not. But then again I'd guess the likelihood of that happening is also low. I've never camped outside a tent though I have been to state parks etc., so I'm still a newbie I guess.

I will be doing the other stuff old-school.... harvesting firewood and splitting tinder, etc., etc.. Except I guess I'll need to carry in a little food for dinner/breakfast over the fire. It's supposed to get down to 23*F, so I guess this night out would get me motivated to get some good clothing that is actually made for cold-weather. I've got desert boots (with wool socks) and a carhart jacket, other than just layering light jackets.

Edited by Guest
  • Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic