Springfield Trap Door

Guest hickok

Guest hickok

Picked up an old Model 1884 Trap Door at the gun show today (Serial # 225***). Fellow said it was vintage 1888. Can anybody confirm that? The wood has been refinished, so it's just a shooter. That's fine with me because I have a lot less in it than a new reproduction would cost. I'd much rather have this one. It seems mechanically sound; in fact, I fired it when I got home, and it seems fine.

I had some BP loads left over from the years I owned a Sharps, which is why I've had my eye out for one of these. Never owned one before.

Should I shoot ONLY black powder? I never shoot anything but blackpowder in my BP frame Colts, even though I know some folks shoot light smokeless loads. Do some folks shoot smokeless in these things, or is there danger in doing that with even light loads?

Thanks for any input. I'm new to these things.

hickok

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest hickok

Thanks. There ARE some good sites on this old warhorse. My main curiosity was whether my current handloads with 43 grains of IMR 3031 under a 405 grain cast would be too stout for this baby.

I think from my research that I'd better back off to about 35 grains, even though this gun seems very sound mechanically. It's just that I don't like changing my Dillon powder measures once I get a load the way I want it. Switching back and forth is something I try to avoid by buying more powder measures. Just call me the ultimate lazy reloader!

Guest hickok

This area is not all that active; guess I'm having a conversation with myself largely, but yesterday I tried 22 grains of 2400 under a 405 gr. cast bullet. It shoots great and is supposed to be safe in the old Trapdoors, according to the Lyman handbook. I might just try the load in my Guide Gun and 1886, too, for when I'm not hunting Cape Buffalo or Elephant here in Cheatham County! :-)