States Rights

Contrary to what they are teaching in some schools now, we fought a war over that…. Remember. :)

I see a lot of talk over federal carry laws. I think this would be a good way to get around the 2nd amendment battle that as been going on for all of ours lives.

The obvious problem I see is States Rights. What do you guys think?

(Note: if you are going to argue individual rights trump states rights you have to make that argument with a right that is recognized as an individual right.)

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hmmm...

And the "states rights" side lost that war as I recall...

(sorry, just being annoying -its what I do)

Anywho...

I'm no expert on the constitution, but as I see it, there is a clause therein that pretty much says "if in this document we don't give a specific power to the federal govt, then it is reserved for the states." And there is a provision in the constitution recognizing a RTKBA. So, I suppose there could be an argument made that gun issues are federal issues since it is specifically addressed in the constitution.

On the other hand, it is pretty much a given that any state constitution that bestows more or greater rights on individuals than the federal constitution does wins out over the federal. We opt for the side of more individual rights.

And on the third hand, we have the issue of interstate commerce, something clearly regulated at the federal level (its pretty much one of the reasons we even have a federal level). Over the centuries, what constitutes "interstate commerce" has been pretty broadly interpreted, and so since arms are manufactured, shipped and used over state lines, there is a federal role to play.