MOLLE Packs

Was thinking about picking up a MOLLE pack for an emergency bug out bag to be left in my truck. I've never used one of these before, and was hoping to get some comments on them from some of the TGO locals.

Looks to me like there is a frame, the main ruck, and an assault pack, as well as other attachments like sleeping bag pack, sustainment packs, etc.

I'm not really interested in the frame. I want something that will just stay in the truck, not be too bulky and be able to flex around whatever else I'm carrying in the cargo area. Does anyone know if the shoulder straps can be attached directly to the main ruck, and just ditch the frame alltogether?

I see the assault pack configured with shoulder straps, but is that pack really big enough to carry enough items? Looks to me like it might be a little smaller than a typical backpack you might find at Wallyworld.

Any other comments?

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The issued MOLLE ruck sack can not be used without the frame to the best of my knowledge. You wouldnt want to either. It has no padding and no rigidity without the frame to hold its shape. The assault pack was supposed to be a three day pack and comes with a thin plastic backing along with a foam insert to help keep shape and comfort. It still isnt the greatest imo. We had blackhawk assault packs that were better and held more (I am comparing the USGI AP vs the BH AP only) just not MOLLE as it wasnt out when those packs were purchased by the unit for Kosovo.

Joe is making a bag that is very much like blackhawk's three day assault pack but it is superior IMO and costs less. I dont think its in full production yet though. It is around 100 dollars. I am not sure of the total costs on a USGI MOLLE ruck but Id imagine it is well in excess of 100.

Guest redbarron06