AR-15 Ejector Question

I have a practically new Bushmaster XM-15 that the ejector is scoring the shell cashing head each time it ejects the spent casing. The ejector head looks pretty flat. Should it be slightly rounded? Also, the spring seems like it might be a bit stronger than others, but it does press all the way in. A friend offered this suggestion: As the bolt tries to slightly turn the shell casing in the "unlocking" process, maybe the ejector is digging in if the casing is tight in the chamber. It is lirerally shaving some to the brass from the shell casing head!

Any of you had this happen before? If so, what did you do to fix it? This was shooting Federal factory ammo, by the way.

I'm considering getting a new ejector and ejector spring at the Murfreesboro gin show this weekend and changing it out.

Any suggestions? Thanks.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest FroggyOne2

If your getting ejector marks on your spent case.. then the ammo is too hot for that chamber.. you are at pressure!

Question one.. is it a 5.56 or a .223 chamber?

Question two.. are you shooting 5.56 ammo in a .223 chamber?

Question three.. are you shooting reloads? Disreguard.. I see that your using some sort of Federal made ammo.

Question four.. Where is the brass landing on the ground after it is ejected?

If your getting ejector marks on your spent case.. then the ammo is too hot for that chamber.. you are at pressure!

Question one.. is it a 5.56 or a .223 chamber?

Question two.. are you shooting 5.56 ammo in a .223 chamber?

Question three.. are you shooting reloads? Disreguard.. I see that your using some sort of Federal made ammo.

Question four.. Where is the brass landing on the ground after it is ejected?