Sights for a AR

I am going to buy a S&W M&P15, I was looking at the M&P15OR (optics ready). I wanted to mount a eotech 512 red dot on the gun, and I was going to mount a front and rear flip-up sights as a back-up, just in case the red dot goes out. I looked at some AR's with a fixed front sight through a eotech and I keep wanting to line up the dot with the front sight post, and I think I would be better off flip-up front sight and keep it down unless I need it as a back-up. I have not shot a AR with a eotech on it and do not know which will sight will work best. What sights do you use on your Ar's, fixed or flip-up? I am going to use this gun for plinking and the occasional match. Thanks, Charles

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Charles,

I have a Bushmaster flat top with fixed front sight. My Eotech is mounted on the upper and perfectly co-witnesses with the front sight. After shooting through it a few times, I never see the front sight. You become focused on the target and never see the front post. I use a folding rear sight behind the Eotech. Shoot one first and see which you like best before spending the extra money for the flip up front.

Good luck with it.

I looked at some AR's with a fixed front sight through a eotech and I keep wanting to line up the dot with the front sight post

Westwind,