[Electronic Drums] Any drummers here?

DaveTN

I played the drums for a little bit when I was kid, over 40 years ago and haven’t touched a set since. On a whim I told the wife the other day I was going to buy a set of drums. She said she wasn’t going to put up with the noise.

Is it possible to learn to play and practice on a set of electronic drums using headphones? I’ve never even seen a set in real life. Are they quiet?

I did a little bit of research and they look like they cost more than a set of real drums?

Comments...

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest gw2and4

I'm a professional drummer in Nashville and there is much advice on this topic. Electronic drums definitely cost more than real drums. I advised another friend last week to get mesh drumheads for real drums. Pearl used to include them on their Rhythm Traveler kit and then you have flexibility. It would probably be a lot less money than buying a decent set of electronic drums with tunable (i.e. tension adjustable) heads.

PM me for more info if you need any help. I'm happy to be the friendly neighborhood SME for all things drums. Not that anyone would need that on a gun board LOL

Sent from my iPhone 4

Edited by gw2and4
Guest Lester Weevils

Hi Dave

There would be the sound of sticks hitting rubber, but not near as loud as something like a ludwig black beauty deep body brass snare drum. I swear black beauties are about as loud as a shotgun when a drummer puts his back into it. Well, a buddy had an old deep-body yamaha maple snare loud enough put a black beauty to shame. There was just no way to play that yamaha quietly, regardless how soft you would play it.