Made a Kydex sheath

In another thread (the one Spots started about the really cool leather sheath he got for carrying one of his Bowie style knives) I mentioned that I wanted to come up with a way to carry a fixed blade knife other than having it on my hip.  I wanted to carry a smallish blade in a horizontal position, probably SOB.  This post discusses my solution.

This is my first attempt at a Kydex sheath.  I have played around with Kydex, before and even made a hybrid holster but not a sheath.  The Kydex I had before was purchased at a leather shop in Knoxville that has since closed and the Tandy store in K-town doesn't sell Kydex so I ordered from Amazon.  I was trying to get the same thickness as I had before but the sheets I ordered are thicker than I wanted making them a bit more difficult to form and to get them to really take definition as nicely as the thinner stuff I had before.  In the future, I will order the next thickness down but for now I have eight squares of this stuff and so I will use it.

The knife I chose to use is a Buck Paklite.  I felt it would work well for this purpose because it is fairly thin overall (even with the paracord handle that I added) but has a blade that - although not long - has both a nice breadth and thickness.

The texture on the sheath was actually an accident.  I heated the Kydex in my oven in a baking pan and wanted to not ruin the pan so I put a piece of clean but previously used aluminum foil in the bottom of the pan.  Despite being a bit difficult to form to the knife, the kydex (which stuck to the foil a little and had to be coaxed loose) had no trouble picking up the texture of the previously somewhat crumpled piece of foil.  At first I was annoyed by this but as I looked more at the sheath I decided that I like it.  So, pics:

IMG_20141014_231250.jpg

IMG_20141014_231230.jpg