CIS Review

A bunch of us from TGO took Todd and Dustin's Advanced Concealed Carry course today, as part of the CIS course offering. It was held on the range at Smyrna's NG base.

I've been through a lot of training in various other disciplines, and with that background I thought it was excellent.

Friendly, relaxed, substantive, safe. Above all the learning was layered so that we were typically only working on one or two things at once.

I'm completely new to concealed carry and I was a below average student, but I learned a lot. I'm not necessarily more skilled now, but I sure understand it better and know what to work on.

I'm a little tired from being in the sun that long, but I'm really glad I took it. I thought it was a terrific course and they did a really, really good job. Every question that was asked received an answer, and then an explanation on WHY that particular answer.

Thanks, guys. I appreciate all the work you put into it and your patient teaching style.

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Bronker

I'll second that, David.

My wife and I were there as well. I will also add that I too was VERY apprehensive about what I already know is a lack of my skill and training on my part. That's my fault. All along I have been satisfied just knowing I was armed, and 'hoped for the best' otherwise. What this training today did was show me two things: first, I've uncovered where my weaknesses are. Deploying...and firing a firearm the way we did (seated, 'bad-breath distance' hand to hand exchanges) has given me a confidence I would have never ventured toward had we not received such individualized instruction today; secondly, I know I need more of it.

I will be back. Great to be with you guys.