Question for Sig Experts

HanSolo

I do not own a Sig, but i am really interested in buying a P226. I have come across some used ones that appear to be in good condition, but most of them were made in the 80's or early 90's. What is the different between these models and the current ones being produced. Visually, from pics, the only different appears to be a cooler grip, but i wanted to ask the experts.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Disclaimer: I am not a SIG expert but play one in real life.

There is no difference in the mechanical function. Actually there is no difference in any of the SIG P-series guns with the exception of a switch in slide construction from older to newer models. Older models were stamped metal with forged inserts.

Guest sling

Rabbi pretty much hit it on the head. I second his disclaimer as well. :screwy: There is a lot of debate on whether older Sigs are better quality than newer ones... simply because they're purely German, better quality control, better materials, Teutonic tooling,etc. :-P

New production Sigs have the slide made in Germany and the frame in Exeter, NH.

I have my opinions but thats now what this post is about.

Older Sigs state "Made in West Germany".... new production states "Exeter, NH"

If your ever in Nashville and want to hit the range before you buy... you're welcome to try mine out. You'll fall in love.

Guest darkstar

What Rabbi and Sling said. Han, let me know when your heading up C-ville way and stop in at ASP, let me know and I'll be there with my SIGS. I don't have a 226 but the range does. And you are welcome to try out my 229 or either of my 239's, or the Mosquito (.22)

I have the opportunity to pick up a used P226 that looks to be in very good condition with 2 15rd mags which was manufactured in 1991 for $475 FTF. I am trying to determine if that is really a good deal or not and if I will regret not getting a more recent model.

Guest sling