Help understanding pistol chambers

I have some basic questions regarding pistol chambers as they relate to reloading.

My first question involves the chamber depth, headspace, and the extractor. First, is dynamic headspace (as opposed to the static headspace of the chamber depth) determined by C.O.L. or case length?

If the answer is that the headspace is determined by case length, first, how does the extractor come into play? Second, why does C.O.L. matter for anything other than cartridge pressure and feeding?

Something that I ran across in my reading that is throwing me off is this picture:

45seatingpossibilitiesxyl8.jpg

The four different images imply that you can adjust headspace with your load. Should the bullet ever be touching the lands in order to obtain the ideal headspace?

This line of questions started when reading my loading manual and seeing that only max C.O.L. is listed not minimum (I am just getting started reloading).

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Mugster

Hmmm. Different cartridges headspace differently.

.45 acp headspaces on case mouth. Or another way to look at it is case length. The rim of the case should be flush with the back end of the barrel. If you put too much crimp on a .45 acp case, it might not headspace correctly. If the case stretches and you don't trim it, it might not headspace correctly.

When you say *only* feeding and pressure, you're saying alot.

In terms of the bullet touching the lands, thats another discussion, imo. I'd advise staying off the lands until you've been at it awhile.

Edited by Mugster