confused hunter(s)

Guest GunTroll

Guest GunTroll

I understand why people aren't flocking to hunting these days. New hunters and new to the area/state hunters alike. Its over regulated. Confusing rules and regs that simply turn people off. Not to mention the cost to get a firearm or weapon, ammo, gear, and then get the required license (FEE) to get out there and harvest game.

I'm new to TN and have been aggressively looking into hunting this upcoming season. I am not new to hunting. Been out there since I was 12. I have hunted SC,GA,MO,CO,and WY. Soon TN will be on the list. I recently started a poll thread on point restrictions. Just today I understood why people opposed it........more state control over an already over controlled sport. I see just to hunt public land one has to get the state license and then a WMA licence and adhere to the regs for the WMA they wish to hunt in addition to the state imposed regs. If this doesn't somewhat deter new hunters with a rule book to hunt perhaps the price will. I also looked into hunting on Ft. Campbell. Talk about rules/regs!

My point is, perhaps to encourage new hunters to pick up the sport the red tape should be eliminated a bit. Its like new hunters need someone to hold their hand and walk them through the BS just to get out in the filed and have fun. It discouraging for me who has hunted before and know what to do after getting in the woods. I can't imagine what a total newb must think trying to figure out what to do just to get out to the woods! Its like to powers to be want people to give up and just buy the miracle meat from the grocery store and forget all about our natural resources. Hunting is being killed off by the government. State and Fed! It will become a lost art if this keeps up.

Rant off!

GT

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic