Polishing a rusted and blued revolver

Angus was over in the Long Guns section looking for a way to clean some surface rust from a Mosin barrel.

http://www.tngunowners.com/forums/long-guns/42627-stoopy-didnt-clean-his-mosin.html

In the thread, CLP and CLR are both mentioned and it was stated that CLR would take care of the rust but also remove blueing. I have an H&R .22 revolver with some surface rust and some blueing that's not in the greatest condition. I've thought about finding a way to strip it down and polish it instead of blueing it. Sort of using it as an experiment platform, as I've never done anything like that before.

If I completely disassemble it, would CLR take off the blueing/rust without hurting anything else? And would a polishing wheel on a Dremel be an acceptable way to polish the remaining steel or do I need a polishing wheel on my bench grinder? Does anything need to be applied to the polished metal to protect it from future rust (a clear-coat type product, perhaps)?

• 2 weeks later...
  • Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Feel free to email me some pics, and I can suggest some different ideas. Or, you can call me with questions. I am not a gunsmith, but I frequently deal with surface "issues" while preparing to engrave guns. 865-604-7827

Tony

Guest 2b1ask1

I ran into the same problem on a Smith MOD.10 a few years ago, I used a Dremel set on medium speed and polishing rouge to remove the rust and bluing, I can't remember the grit, it worked pretty well. I considered using a bench grinder and polishing wheel, but I was concerned about controlling the speed and pressure. I wish I could advise you on what to coat it with, you may be able to find a plating shop to plate it for you.