Motorcycle carry?

For those of you who ride motorcycles & carry, how have you gone about doing it?

I've been riding for many years & just got my permit. In looking at different carry options, I've come across a few issues to consider:

- Accessibility. Can I draw my firearm while seated on my bike? Can I access it quickly & easily?

- Visibility. If I'm carrying concealed (which would be most of the time), will my firearm stay concealed while getting on & off the bike, and getting in & out of my riding gear?

- Security & weather protection. If I keep my firearm on my bike, how will I keep it from being stolen & keep it dry & clean?

- Usability: Can I effectively use my firearm while wearing my normal riding gear? Granted, this is more of a personal question than a group one, but it's something I need to take into consideration.

I know that there's no "perfect solution", since some of those points are mutually exclusive, and different options will make more sense depending on the rider & the situation.

I'm curious to see what you've done; how have you done it & what was the rational? How well has it worked for you?

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I ride constantly and this has been one of my biggest things. I ride with a LE MC so we all carry. I'll try to address them individually.

Access- It depends on what you wear. If you wear a vest just get vest extenders instead of pulling the vest tight and closing it. This allows the vest to cover the gun and have room at the bottom for you to move it and access the weapon. You can also get a shirt that's a little long that will cover it. If you wear a jacket you'd have to leave it unzipped.

Visibility- Short answer is No. It's not going to stay concealed 100% of the time. Wind moving your stuff around, body motion, etc. If it's on your hip, it's most likely going to show.