Greetings from Pacific Northwest

I would like to say hello to everyone on the Tennessee Gun Owners forum..     I grew up in the Pacific Northwest, my home state is Oregon, and currently live in the state of Washington.  I'm considering moving out to Tennessee and would be interested to learn more about the state, gun laws, shooting areas and just to get more folks who are into shooting sports and pro-2A minded.     I've lived most my life in the Northwest, but due to many circumstances that are very unfortunate, including the soon-to-be passing (sadly as polls state) I-594 initiative that will incriminate many gun owners in the state I feel that its time to move on.    I'm a software developer and run a small family business from home and Tennessee seems to be both gun friendly and business friendly state, with lower taxes, etc.   

I grew up in the mountains and have to say I will feel a bit homesick leaving the Northwest, but I see that Tennessee has a lot of natural beauty and would love to see the Appalachian mountains and experience all they have to offer.   I hear Tennessee is very friendly state and will be looking forward to visiting it very soon.   

I'm considering looking around the Knoxville area, but also going to look at Nashville, Chattanooga among other areas..     I'm wondering what type of shooting ranges that are accepting new members would be within close proximity to Knoxville and Nashville areas?   I like to do rifle and pistol shooting.  I'm looking for a range that doesn't have a lot of restrictions, such as forbidding draw/shoot, etc.   Also, I would like to do some longer range, like 500+ yard rifle shooting.  I am not sure how hard it is to find ranges that have long distance rifle ranges.     In the Pacific Northwest, the shooting ranges are limited West of the Cascades, but East of the Cascades (farther from me), there are more options.

I thank everyone for having me here on the forum.   

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply