My guts or his...The steps of cleaning him out.

Guest walkingdeadman

Guest walkingdeadman

So if you have read any of my post from the past you know that I am new to hunting. I have only seen one doe get killed and field dressed, and never have killed one of my own.

I am not the type that gets an un-easy stomach over much. But I have only seen one deer be field dressed. I am wondering how your first experience was when you cut open your first kill. It's not that I am worried how I will react, because I know I will get the job done. Just curious to see if anyone has any pointers to help me along . Thanks, Roy

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Mugster

Hehe. Its gonna be a big day when you get one, I'll say that.

I did my first one when I was 12. My dad did alot of it. I didn't puke, but, I didn't eat much the rest of the day.

You realize you gotta cut the diaphram out and get the heart and lungs, plus cut off the windpipe up there pretty high. Going through a few ribs makes it easier. Also, you got to cut a circle around the anus and pull the lower intestine out through the body cavity. Just work slow and steady and get it all out of there. Try not to rupture anything, because that really does smell. Its really not all that hard once you do a few.

Well there is no way to get good at it without doing it a lot. I pretty much hate it. I do it, but I hate it. I have never puked, but I have been close on a couple gut shot deer. I wear latex gloves to keep stuff out from under my fingernails, I know, what a puss. ;)

I carry a saw and cut the pelvic bone, it makes it easier for me to not bust the bladder and to get the intestines/anus out with no meat contamination.

My daughter got her first deer last year and because it was late on sunday and she had school the next day she got to skip the gutting. I am going to make sure she kills one on a saturday morning this year.:eek: