"The Debt Generation" by TN College Students

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I can see that. By the time I'm finished with all my schooling (Master's Degree) I will most likely have surpassed $50k in debt.

Good lord! How? Don't you get money from being in the military?

I finished my bachelors with $7,500 in student loans but my first 2 years were really cheap at P.S.C.C.

Guest bkelm18
Good lord! How? Don't you get money from being in the military?

I finished my bachelors with $7,500 in student loans but my first 2 years were really cheap at P.S.C.C.

Not as much as you would think and you don't get much of anything for graduate schooling.

A graduate degree costs a lot more than an undergraduate degree, as well. Unless you can realize another $15000 to $20000 more a year, I don't see a Masters as that much more beneficial. If you are set on a Masters, though, get out of school and go to work for a company that is willing to pay for at least part of the cost. I know that's hard to do in this economy. I know a lot of new Civil Engineers are graduating and staying in school to get their Masters because there are no jobs for them. The problem is, there are no jobs for them afterwards either. Also if your degree offers a Co-op Program, I highly recommend it. The new graduates I know, that have gotten jobs all went through a Co-op Program.

Well you can all Flame me if you would like, I am embarking on a journey to my doctorate. When that is said and done, I will be working for a meager living!

I am working toward my DNS (Doctorate in Nursing Science) and after I graduate and Pass the exams for Nurse practitioner I will be seeking Federal funding to set up a mobile clinic in order to serve the areas out here that do not have medical facilities readily available/accessible to people.

I have looked into it and the government will pay back my loans under certain programs for underserved areas.